5
  

Brad Parks and Domnica Radulescu at Ox-Eye Vineyards

  • 05/24/2017
  • 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
  • Ox-Eye Vineyards Tasting Room, 44 Middlebrook Ave., Staunton, VA

SWAG Writers, a sub-group of the Blue Ridge Writers Chapter of the Virginia Writers Club, invites you to an evening of readings and fellowship with special guests, BRAD PARKS and DOMNICA RADULESCU, on Wednesday, May 24 beginning at 7pm at the Ox-Eye Vineyards tasting room in Staunton, Virginia. For more information, contact CliffGarstang[at]gmail.com.

BRAD PARKS is the only author to have won the Shamus, Nero and Lefty Awards, three of crime fiction's most prestigious prizes. His first standalone thriller, Say Nothing, released March 2017 from Dutton Books in the U.S., along with thirteen other publishers worldwide. Parks's six previous novels chart the adventures of sometimes-dashing investigative newspaper reporter Carter Ross, and have collectively won stars from every major pre-publication review outlet. A graduate of Dartmouth College, Parks is a former journalist with The Washington Post and The (Newark, N.J.) Star-Ledger. He is now a full-time novelist living in Virginia with his wife and two school-aged children.

DOMNICA RADULESCU is the Edwin A. Morris Professor of French and Italian literature at Washington and Lee University, and is a consultant with the Romanian Studies Association of America. Her latest book, Country of Red Azaleas, is a riveting novel about two women--one Serbian, one Bosnian--whose deep friendship spans decades and continents, war and peace, love and estrangement, in the vein of Elena Ferrante and Julia Alvarez. Told in lush, vivid prose, Country of Red Azaleas is a poignant testament to both the power of friendship and our ability to find meaning and beauty in the face of devastation.  
       Domnica is also the author of two best-selling novels: Black Sea Twilight (Doubleday 2010 & 2011) and Train to Trieste (Knopf 2008 & 2009). She has authored, edited and co-edited several scholarly books on theater, exile and representations of women and received the 2011 Outstanding Faculty Award from the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia. She is also a Fulbright scholar and is presently working on her third novel titled My Father’s Orchards and on a new play titled Exile is My Home.


© Virginia Writers Club
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software